Week 4 Clues – Mega Chemist Challenge #MegaCC

It has been said that this weeks Mega Chemist was a little too easy. This may be true, so if you have not got it I suggest you soak up the clues, do some research and take the glory whilst you can, because this week I am going all out to defeat those who are riding high with 4/4 so far.

And now for the clues……

I was born in 1931 in New Jersey.  My studies and academic career have taken me from Cambridge in the USA (with Woodward at Harvard), to Cambridge in the UK (with Lord Todd),  before a position in a New York based institution tied me down

My early studies on Vitamin B-1 resulted in an ‘intermediate’ now bearing my name, and I have a love for 3 membered aromatics.  The  major focus of my current research is in the field of biomimetic chemistry. I also squeezed in a little time as president of the ACS in the 1990s.

I also share a name with a certain red-haired fellow who lives under a couple of yellowish arches.

2 thoughts on “Week 4 Clues – Mega Chemist Challenge #MegaCC

Leave a Reply

